Small Groups Will Save the Church

Jonathan Burnos
7 min read4 days ago
Photo by Andrew Moca on Unsplash

I have always been fascinated with sociology and psychology. I love studying how people interact in their environments and how those environments can shape them. In our modern-day climate, there is such an emphasis on healthy lifestyles and mental health. While post-modern movements aim to remove faith from our lives, we often forget that religion is embedded as a cornerstone of our moral ethics and our familial values.

Following Covid and amidst global unsettledness, the search for peace has never been so important. There is a tangible positive impact of “community.” There are many movements devoted to decluttering one’s mental and physical space. We have guided meditation to quiet the noise. We have KonMari to teach us how to dispose of the “stuff” we carry from home to home. It’s much more accessible than ever before to slip away into reclusiveness. A cleanse of toxic people, behaviors, or environments can leave someone decluttered but empty. Without the proper resources to rebuild, there is an extreme danger that someone will remain in that state. We are created to be social beings. We are meant to be in community with one another.

As uncomfortable as that thought makes me sometimes, I still need to force myself to connect with people. I schedule time to be intentional, and there are moments that it turns my stomach with anxiety.

--

--

Jonathan Burnos

Author, and public speaker. I write to know myself. I love to share ideas on self improvement, motivation, and the meaning of life.